Full list of updated green, amber and red countries – and the rules when you travel


Portugal, Gibraltar and Israel are among the countries and territories people will be able to visit without quarantining on their return to the UK, the government has said.

As England goes into the next phase of the roadmap out of lockdown on 17 May, a traffic light system that categorises countries based on their COVID-19 risk levels has been drawn up.

Travellers coming from countries on the green list will need to take a COVID test before they fly back to the UK and another on the second day after they return – but will not have to quarantine.

Those coming from amber countries will have to quarantine for 10 days at home, with a test before they return, another on day two and another on day eight.

People coming from red countries will have to isolate for 10 days in a quarantine hotel at a cost of £1,750 – with a test before they depart, and tests on day two and day eight.

Turkey, the Maldives and Nepal have been added to the red list.

Despite being on the green list, people will not be able to go on holiday to Australia, New Zealand or Singapore as they are closed to UK tourists.

The most popular European destinations with UK holidaymakers – such as Spain, Italy, France and Greece – are on the amber list.

This is the full green list:






New Zealand



Faroe Islands

Tristan Da Cunha

St Helena


Falkland Islands


South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Pinterest’s plan to better compete with TikTok, Shopify and Instagram
Public has a ‘right to know’: Speaker refuses to reveal why MPs wanted parliament attendance data deleted
All London children aged one to nine to be offered polio vaccine after more virus found in sewers
Russian journalist who protested Ukraine war live on TV and held banner saying ‘Putin is a killer’ has home raided
‘At least 41 people killed’ in fire at church in Egypt

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.